OUT-OF-STATE TRANSFER

COST: $20 – With Motorcycle: $30

What do I need to bring to transfer my out-of-state driver’s license/permit?

Over 18: You must have ALL documents listed and we cannot accept anything laminated or photocopied

  • Social Security Card (not laminated)

and

  • Mail postmarked or dated within the last 90 days with applicant’s name

and

Under 18: You must have ALL documents listed and we cannot accept anything laminated or photocopied

  • Birth Certificate (Original or State Certified with the raised embossed seal)

and

  • Social Security Card (Not Laminated)

and

  • School Verification Form (your school should have them available)

and

  • A parent on the Birth Certificate or Legal Guardian. The parent/guardian must bring their driver’s license or their state ID to verify the applicants address. If the applicant does not share a residence with the parent/guardian; mail postmarked or dated within the last 90 days with the applicants name will be required. Applicants under the age of 18 MUST HAVE a parent or guardian to sign the application. Guardianship papers are required for any person not listed as a parent on the applicant’s birth certificate.

and

You must surrender any out-of-state operator license when applying for an operator license or ID in Kentucky. To obtain an out-of-state transfer, the driver must provide a Social Security card and mail postmarked or dated within the last 90 days with the applicant’s name.

The cost is $20 for an operator license and $30 for an operator/motorcycle license.

Transfers may be made at either of our two driver’s license branches in Covington or Independence.

If the out-of-state license has expired, the driver must take the written test and eye exam.
If the out-of-state license has expired over a year the driver must obtain a clearance letter from their state, in addition to their license, to continue.
Click here for your state’s License Bureau phone number to obtain a clearance letter.

To begin this procedure please visit one of the Circuit Clerk staffed branches in Covington or Independence. Your initial paperwork and document verification will begin there and you will then be eligible to take the written test and eye exam at the state testing facility in Independence. Upon obtaining a passing grade on the written test and an acceptable eye exam you must return to a Circuit Clerk staffed branch in Covington or Independence to be issued the new Kentucky driver’s license.

We CANNOT issue a Kentucky driver’s license if you are suspended in ANY state.

For more information, contact the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet.

Out-of-State Drivers Transferring to Kentucky:

  • Persons moving into Kentucky have 30 days to obtain a Kentucky driver’s license.
  • You must be at least 16 years of age to transfer your driving permit or license to Kentucky.
  • If under age 18, the applicant must have a birth certificate, a parent or legal guardian present, the parent/guardian’s valid Kentucky driver’s license, and a School Compliance Verification Form signed by the out-of-state school (No Pass/No Drive Law – KRS 159.051 effective 08-01-07). The applicant may have the registration from their new Kentucky school in place of the School Compliance Verification Form from out of state. This form can be obtained from the student’s school district of residence.
  • All Kenton County Driver Licenses are issued in either of the two Circuit Court Clerk’s Offices located in Covington or Independence.
  • Proof of Kentucky residency is required. Proof includes, but not limited to, mail addressed and delivered to the applicant, a deed or property tax bill signed by both parties, utility agreement or utility bill, or rental housing agreement with signatures of both parties. All documents must be current or dated within the last 90 days.
  • Your valid out-of-state license and non-laminated Social Security card must be presented to the Circuit Clerk. You may also be required to present a birth certificate. If the name on your valid out of state license does not match the name on your birth certificate, you may be required to present a marriage certificate or a court ordered name change.
  • If your out-of-state license is valid when you transfer to Kentucky, you will not be required to test.  If your out of state license has expired, you will be required to take the written and eye tests.
  • If your out-of-state license is expired one year or more, you must provide a current driving record or clearance letter from the state you are transferring from.
  • Out-of-State permit holders transferring to Kentucky must transfer their permit and be issued a Kentucky permit before applying for a Kentucky Driver License.
  • The type of license you apply for will determine the cost.

How do I transfer my valid out-of-state Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) NO HAZMAT?

Transferring CDLs from another state requires us to update the applicant’s required credentials with our state office located in Frankfort. Applicants must bring in their valid medical card and are required to fill out a self certification document and application at either our Covington or Independence locations. Our clerks will then fax your documents to Frankfort. The paperwork will then be processed for state record keeping purposes. This may take up to 10 days for all paperwork to be processed. Please plan accordingly.

Cost: $63 – With Motorcycle: $73

What do I need to bring to transfer my out-of-state CDL?

  • Social Security Card (May not be laminated or photocopied)

and

  • Mail postmarked or dated and delivered within the last 90 days with applicant’s name

and

  • Your out-of-state license
    If you no longer have your out-of-state license you must have a clearance letter from the state where you last held your license.

and

  • Current medical card

What if I am transferring in a HAZMAT endorsement?

The process for transferring in a hazmat endorsement from another state requires the same steps as mentioned above plus an additional testing and fingerprint requirement.  You will need to take and pass the HAZMAT written test before your transfer can be completed. You must transfer your out of state license and be issued a valid KY license before scheduling fingerprints. The Deputy Clerk will contact the state office in Frankfort to grant you a 90 day extension to complete the fingerprinting requirement. Fingerprints are handled at the State Police testing facility in Independence located on 1655 Delaware Crossing (behind Krogers). Appointments are available on Thursdays. Please call (888) 655-9655 to schedule your appointment.  
YOU MUST GET YOUR FINGERPRINTS TAKEN WITHIN THE 90 DAY EXTENSION PERIOD OR THE HAZMAT WILL BE DROPPED FROM YOUR LICENSE.

Kenton County Driver’s License Branches:

Kenton County Justice Center:
230 Madison Ave. 2nd floor
Covington, KY 41011
Phone: (859) 292-6579  ext. 516
Hours: Monday – Friday 8AM – 4 PM
Payment Options  –  Cash, Check, Debit Card or Credit Card.
There is a $2 third-party fee for debit or credit card transactions.

Independence Branch: (NEW ADDRESS)
1655 Delaware Crossing
Independence, KY 41051

Phone: (859) 356-5925
Fax: (859) 356-0942
Hours: Monday – Friday 8:00AM – 4PM
Wednesday 8:00AM – 6 PM
Saturday 9AM – 12PM
Payment Options  –  Cash, Check, Debit Card or Credit Card.
There is a $2 third-party fee for debit or credit card transactions.

State Police Testing Center
1655 Delaware Crossing
Independence, KY 41051
Phone: (844) 253-5680
Hours: Monday – Friday 8AM – 3:30 PM