STATE IDENTIFICATION CARDS

COST: $12 for applicants 15 and over – $4 for applicants 14 and under

18 and over

What do I need to bring?

  • Birth Certificate (Original or State Certified with the raised embossed seal)

and

  • Social Security Card (Not Laminated)

and

  • Mail postmarked or dated within the last 90 days with applicant’s name

Under 18

What do I need to bring?

  • Birth Certificate (Original or State Certified with the raised embossed seal)

and

  • Social Security Card (Not Laminated)

and

  • Parent listed on the birth certificate or legal guardian with guardianship documents

and

  • The Parent/Guardian must provide their valid Kentucky Driver’s License or State ID to verify identity and the applicants address if the applicant lives with the Parent/Guardian.  If the applicant does not share a residence with the parent/guardian; mail postmarked or dated within the last 90 days with the applicants name will be required. Applicants under the age of 18 MUST HAVE a parent or guardian to sign the application. Guardianship papers are required for any person not listed as a parent on the applicant’s birth certificate.

Identification cards are good for four years and must be issued in the county where you reside. To obtain an identification card, you must show an original or certified birth certificate, Social Security card, and proof of address and marriage license if applicable. Applicants under the age of 18 will need a parent or guardian to sign the application. Guardianship papers are required. We cannot accept anything laminated or photocopied!

All names on the documentation must match.

Name or address changes are required by law to be made to identification cards within 10 days. To obtain a name change, you must show documentation in the form of a marriage license, divorce decree or name change order.

Kenton County Driver’s License Branches:

Kenton County Justice Center:
230 Madison Ave. 2nd floor
Covington, KY 41011
Phone: (859) 292-6579 Option 6
Hours: Monday – Friday 8AM – 4 PM
Payment Options  –  Cash, Check, Debit Card or Credit Card.
There is a $2 third-party fee for debit or credit card transactions.

Independence Branch:
1655 Delaware Crossing
Phone: (859) 356-5925
Fax: (859) 356-0942
Hours: Monday – Friday 8:00AM – 4PM
Wednesday 8:00AM – 6 PM (3:30-6 PM No Testing)
Saturday 9AM – 12PM No Testing
Payment Options  –  Cash, Check, Debit Card or Credit Card.
There is a $2 third-party fee for debit or credit card transactions.